Warning Cookies are used on this site to provide the best user experience. If you continue, we assume that you agree to receive cookies from this site. OK

Catapilla - Catapilla LP

Get free with: 448 points
Reward points: 20 points
TDP 54031
In stock
Add to wish list


Catapilla - Catapilla LP. Gatefold cover vinyl reisuse of this 1971 vertigo swirl release with long psychy progressive atmospheric tracks. Jazz-infused prog rock act Catapilla began in London in 1970, with saxophonists Robert Calvert (who later worked with Daevid Allen in various Gong spin-off projects) and Hugh Eaglestone,
bassist Dave Taylor (of chart-topping pop act Edison Lighthouse, and later active in hard-rock group, Liar), along with drummer Malcolm Frith, guitarist Graham Wilson and clarinet player/flautist, Thierry Rheinhardt; original vocalist 'Lady' Jo Meek quit early (to work with the keyboardist, poet and science fiction author Julian Jay Savarin) and was duly replaced by her sister, Anna, whose gutsy gasps gave the band its noteworthy difference, along with the woodwinds and horns. Former Millionaires' bassist Cliff Cooper (who had worked with producer Joe Meek before founding Orange Amplifiers), brought Catapilla to the attention of Black Sabbath's manager, Patrick Meehan, who swiftly got them a contract with Vertigo, Philips' prog subsidiary; this self-titled debut has four freaky tracks, including the side-long closer, 'Embryonic Fusion.' (sealed)


Trading Places
Orig Year:
Country of Origin:
Made In:


No posts found

Write a review

Related Releases

Customers Also Bought

Magic - Enclosed LP OSR015 Save 14%
$28.95 $24.95
New Trolls - New Trolls LP VMLP133 Save 9%
$32.95 $29.95
Night Sun - Mournin LP HR2949 Save 7%
$28.95 $26.95
$15.49 $15.45

Suggested Items

3 Hur El - 3 Hur El LP Guess 057LP Save 7%
$28.95 $26.95
Ache - De Homine Urbano LP LPRLP808 Save 7%
$28.95 $26.95
Ache - Green Man LP LPR0809 Save 7%
$28.95 $26.95
After All - After All LP OSR 086 Save 14%
$28.95 $24.95

Latest Arrivals