Warning Cookies are used on this site to provide the best user experience. If you continue, we assume that you agree to receive cookies from this site. OK

Jarvis Street Revue - Mr. Oil Man CD

Label: Pacemaker
Get free with: 221 points
Reward points: 10 points
1 item(s)
Add to wish list


Jarvis Street Revue - Mr. Oil Man CD. Deluxe official reissue of their very rare 1971 psychedelic rock album on the Columbia label out of Canada. Poised between Toronto and Winnipeg, Thunder Bay, Ontario became the unfortunate refuge for every touring band in Canada; that mandatory break while crossing the perilously vast Canadian Shield. With a nine-hour drive to anywhere else, Thunder Bay’s isolation goes beyond the cold, Northwestern psyche. It permeates the Canadian consciousness, leaving its mark on every musician crossing the Bay’s threshold. No doubt, Canada’s vastness can be heard in much of the Northernly musical output. There is perhaps no better example of this than Thunder Bay’s Jarvis Street Revue. Their lone Columbia label LP from 1971 leaves no one untouched by the band’s sheer avalanche of psychedelic heaviness, wasted acid leads and harrowing vocals. Every song is laced with a conviction born from the physical landscape they called home. Jarvis Street Revue spent (literally) a month of Sundays recording the album and bouncing tracks to create effects. “Chuck Williams was so freaked out, he used to leave the room,” Jarvis leader and Neil Young running mate Tom Horricks said. “It was so anti-establishment.” The Jarvis Street Revue used recordings of nature to create a nightmare atmosphere. When the bouncing of tracks led to some odd sounds in the mix, the band left them there and worked them into their sonic tapestry. Creative and far-seeing... and not without some chemical support. As Horricks admitted, “If I were to tell you we did a little drugs in those days, I wouldn’t be lying!” The Jarvis Street Revue then toured, playing the songs from “Mr. Oil Man” with a “cacophony of strobes and effects.” The albums's (and band's) concern with the environmental—including bold statements on the use and abuse of the oil reserves, rapacious business men, and the depletion of Earth’s natural resources—were truly visionary. Tucked somewhere into the band’s murky history were recording sessions for a handful of singles, and a few cuts for an unreleased second album, “Strands of Time” (1971); all of these other recordings (ten in all) are included as bonus tracks. This makes the entire output of this legendary band available for the first time in this revised and expanded version of this seminal psychedelic effort. Wrap around over-sized booklet has a band history by Tom Horricks, plus photos, images of sheet music for most of the songs, and lyrics for the band's greatest statement, 'Mr. Oil Man."

Track list: 1. Mr. Business Man (2:41); 2. Mr. Oil Man (12:27); 3. 20 Years (3:08); 4. Sally's Hymn (4:44); 5. 300 South (2:40); 6. Heidi Ho (3:29). Bonus Tracks: 7. Sweet Susan (2:25); 8. Angela (2:33); 9. Mr. Rock (2:37); 10. Uncle Benny (3:48); 11. I Believe In Freedom (3:20); 12. Sweet Eyed Satin Lady (3:41); 13. Better Things To Do (2:14); 14. Tambourine (2:30); 15. Intermission (2:57); 16. Magic Man (3:01) (not listed on the CD booklet)


Orig Year:
Country of Origin:
Made In:


No posts found

Write a review

New Release!

Pussy - Invasion LP Save 18%
$21.95 $17.99
Select options
This product will start shipping on 06/28/2018

Customers Also Bought

Homer - Grown in U.S.A. CD Save 27%
$15.98 $11.62
Cain - A Pound of Flesh CD. Save 29%
$16.95 $11.98

Suggested Items

After All - After All CD Save 22%
$14.98 $11.62