Winterhawk - Revival LP

Get free with: 352 points


Winterhawk - Revival LP. Highly anticipated 35th anniversary and first-ever vinyl reissue of this all-time classic hard rock guitar private press record from 1982. Revival overflows with a powerful classic hard rock sound featuring the unmatched soaring vocals of bassist Doug Brown, tight, powerful hard hitting drumming from Scott Benes, and the incomparable guitar wizardry of Jordan Macarus, who will leave you wondering why he isn't featured in every guitar magazine around. If you love hard rock lead guitar action like me, then do yourself a huge favor and grab this thing immediately, you absolutely will not regret it! As a classic hard progressive rock band. Winterhawk thrived in Chicago’s late 70s rock scene that included groups like The Hounds, Cheap Trick, Pentwater, M&R Rush, Off Broadway, Arion, Sorcery, Medusa, and many more. You could find them opening shows for acts like Budgie, Black Oak Arkansas, Steppenwolf, and others. The band went through a few incarnations with different second guitarists but was pared down to a three-piece for the Revival album which finally came together in 1982. The album was originally released in a limited edition on the band's own Lambda records and is now very collectible and sells for nearly $200 when it surfaces. Revival was first reissued on CD over 20 years ago and this has helped garner the band a large worldwide following, which has led to reunion concerts at festivals here in the USA and Europe, including a show in Germany at Keep It True Festival XXI. The reissue comes with a full-size booklet with lyrics, liner notes, interview, and vintage photos plus an 11x17 poster featuring Doug Brown and Jordan Macarus. (m/m, sealed)  

Side One:

  1. Intro
  2. Ace in the Hole
  3. Period of Change
  4. Can’t See the Forest for the Trees

Side Two:

  1. Revival
  2. Sanctuary
  3. Free to Live

Vinyl color breakdown:

  • Black vinyl 1st press - 600 pressed (SOLD OUT), Black vinyl 2nd press available - 500 pressed
  • Seafoam Green vinyl - 300 pressed (SOLD OUT)
  • Creamsicle Orange vinyl - 100 pressed (exclusively retail direct from Rockadrome) (SOLD OUT)


"You can bet your bottom dollar that somewhere at the opposite end of the Time Tunnel, Winterhawk's seven-minute piece de resistance Period of Change is more revered than Kansas's Dust in The Wind, and Macarus is playing in Deep Purple instead of Steve Morse. Seriously, Winterhawk is that good."
- Geoff Barton (Classic Rock)

"In my past twenty years as an addict of heavy guitar music, I have never heard anyone who played the electric guitar like Jordan Macarus. The three songs that Macarus wrote on his own in 1979 ("Period of change", "Revival" and "Free to live") I shall take with me into my grave because I don't think I will ever hear anything like that again even in the afterlife." - Sacred Metal

- "The music on "Revival" is an intriguing composite of vintage Rush, with elements of 80's hard-rock and southern rock (Skynyrd, Allman Brothers) guitar stylings. Much of it is straightforward 4/4 rock, but damn infectious, nonetheless. A couple of lengthy tracks push the progressive quotient.” - Progression Mag

- "it's unquestionably the regularly dazzling fretwork of guitarist Jordan Macarus that provides the foundation of Winterhawk's every move. Whether harmonizing with himself, Thin Lizzy-like, on most every number, alternating gently picked classical guitar figures with crunchy power chords à la Randy Rhoads on the title track, or peeling off a jazzy, fleet-fingered display while proving quite the capable singer himself on "Ace in the Hole," Macarus is in fine form, and even without any of the above, one would only need to hear his beautifully fluid soloing on the stunning album centerpiece "Period of Changes" (not quite Steve Morse, but close) to realize that here was a particularly innate and versatile six-string talent. " - AllMusic (Eduardo Rivadavia)

- "Simply one of the greatest guitar-oriented hard rock albums of all time (though not instrumental). Jordan Macarus can be really proud of his stunning abilities in guitar playing (and composing as well). " - Just Real Diamonds blog

- "If I could take any single record with me to a desert island, this would be it." - Enlightened Chaos

- "...midwest hard rock band whose melodic hard rock is some of the best we've heard; great guitar leads and songs in a Jeronimo-Jericho-Masters
zone;" - Subliminal Sounds

- "...recommended to all hard rockers.." - Metal Invader

- "...brilliant guitar playing, great singing.." - Snakepit

- "A music torrent bursts out full of imposing, extra terrestrial, destructive solos that will lead you to the greatest orgasm you ever had.." - Steel Conjuring


Hard Rock
Vinyl Color:
Black Vinyl
Orig Year:
Issue Date:
Country of Origin:
Made In:



No posts found

Write a review

Related Releases